1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.
Martha Bakerjian

New Seven Wonders of the World - Rome Colosseum

By July 8, 2007

Follow me on:

roman colosseum italy travel pictureRome's Colosseum was elected as one of the new Seven Wonders of the World. The final seven, selected from 21 finalists, were unveiled in Lisbon, Portugal, July 7, 2007. The Roman Colosseum was the only European representative chosen.

Rome's Colosseum, also called the Amphitheatrum Flavium, was built between 70 and 82 AD by the Flavian emperors, Vespasian and Titus. The Colosseum held up to 55,000 spectators and was the scene of many deadly gladiatorial and wild animal fights.

When visiting the Roman Colosseum, you can avoid the long ticket lines by buying a ticket at the nearby Palatine Hill entrance. You can also get your picture taken with a gladiator outside the Colosseum.

Find out more about the Roman Colosseum and ancient Rome with our Rome Colosseum Pictures and Top Ancient Rome Sites.

Picture of Rome's Colosseum 2006 by Martha Bakerjian, licensed to about.com

October 7, 2008 at 2:57 pm
(1) juju says:

im doing a report abot the roman colosseum

October 16, 2010 at 12:36 am
(2) sara says:


September 14, 2011 at 1:17 pm
(3) Alison says:

Why was it chosen to be one of the 7 Wonders?

September 14, 2011 at 1:52 pm
(4) goitaly says:

People voted on it and it came up as one of the most popular, probably for its historic significance.

December 2, 2012 at 12:34 pm
(5) matt says:

Why is the roman colosseum one of the 7 Wonders?

December 2, 2012 at 5:34 pm
(6) goitaly says:

There was a contest and people voted on which places they thought should be in the new seven wonders. The Colosseum was one of the winners.

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.